Thank You For Joining Us At AWA 2018!


We couldn’t have done it without YOU!

On June 5th, 2018, the YW Boston community gathered at the Park Plaza Hotel for the 23rd annual Academy of Women Achievers Award luncheon.  More than 450 people celebrate Jeannette Mills, Vanessa Calderón-Rosado, Wanda McClain, Kip Hollister & Nai Collymore-Henry, the five new unstoppable women inductees honored this year.   

In addition to hearing some inspired words of wisdom from each of the award recipients, Interim President & CEO Beth Chandler and Mayor Walsh, long-time friend and YW Boston supporter, professor Anita Hill, presented the first annual Sylvia Ferrell-Jones Award to¬†Nai Collymore-Henry.¬† Nai, a young up-and-coming leader in Boston, exemplifies the values that Sylvia, former YW Boston President and CEO, championed for more than a decade of service to the YW Boston community.¬† Nai was chosen as the first honoree of this special award because of her commitment to the work of eliminating racism and empowering women, a mission that was central to Sylvia’s life and thus, to her ongoing legacy.¬† To hear about Sylvia and the meaning of the award named in her honor, please click here to watch the video that her friends and fellow community leaders created and shared at this year’s luncheon.¬†¬†

Throughout the month of June and in July’s Leader, we will be sharing additional reflections of this remembrance and our powerful celebration of Boston’s best and brightest women achievers.¬† To kick off our #AWA2018 reflection series, we’d like to share a short photomontage highlighting some of the wonderful moments captured in this year’s celebration of Unstoppable Women.¬†

Thank you to the Host Committee and the Sponsors for their important support.